The problem with partners

I’ll officially be done by first month of articling tomorrow.  I think things are going okay so far.  I’ve gotten interesting work.  Done the best work I can.  Tried to remain sane will doing it.

This past week I’ve been having some problems with a partner at work.  Well, maybe they aren’t problems maybe it’s just my neuroses.  That’s part of the problem.  I can’t tell if there is a problem.

Let me tell you the story.  Last summer I did a lot of work for this partner–let’s call him or her X.  X seemed to like the work I did and gave me a lot of it.  At the end of the summer X and I worked on a project that I know I put less in that I could have on.  Honestly I was bagged and I had a bigger assignment pressing me.  I didn’t completely crap out but I certainly didn’t excel.

Fast forward to articling.  I see X in the hall.  X says he or she is happy to see me.  X, via a third party, assigns a large and important project to me.  I haul ass on the project.  Get it in done way ahead of schedule and better than that same project was done last year–this particular project recurs, you see.  Anyhow,  X has been feeding all of his or her other work to other students.  X has made snide comments about the number of drafts that I did on the written portion of the project.  When editing that portion of the project X wrote a couple of snide comments in the margins.  In short, X seems to be being a bit of a jerk.  It’s causing me some problems.  I really like X.  He or she is one of my favourite partners at the firm but I feel like he or she is made at me for some reason.  I don’t want to go talk to X until I’m sure there is a problem otherwise I will come off as a nut job.

What’s a student to do?  Thoughts?

Leave a comment